Thomas The Rhymer

 

Thomas the Rhymer is a magical-realism fantasy suitable for ages 11 to adult.

11 year old Jack must save the fairy changeling Thomas the Rhymer from the pitiless Agnes Day and rescue his brother from the selfish fairy queen holding him captive.

Schoolboy hero Jack Hughes is helped by friends, the clever and lonely Catherine, and the overweight, asthmatic psychic Ken.

The whirlwind adventure has monstrous griffins, corpse roads, living tapestries and magic mirrors.

Cast includes a delightful ensemble of ancient powerful, yet vulnerable, fairy queens; a changeling poet Prince Thomas the Rhymer; Ken’s fortune-telling mum Rosie; elderly magus Horatio Grin; and the beautiful wicked Agnes Day intent on capturing a fairy to treat as a lab rat.

Read Sally Cronin’s review

 

 

What else has been said about Thomas the Rhymer?

‘Fans of Harry Potter & Narnia will love Thomas the Rhymer’

‘Thomas the Rhymer leaves you feeling like a child curled up in a comfy armchair on a wet & windy afternoon, lost in a good book’

‘Spellbinding! An ideal read for young & old alike!’

‘This is a terrific story, beautifully written with great imagination & gentle humour. The plot is well crafted & cleverly interweaves fantasy with reality. The momentum is maintained throughout the book, with action on every page. The human characters are solid & believable & the fairies are cleverly portrayed as being powerful while at the same time vulnerable’

‘A real page-turner – full of excitement & wonder’

‘The climax is absolutely brilliant, not only magic, imagery, spells & incantations, but gives a feeling of real danger too. And with a terrific sting in the tail’

Click to Download

 

 

Click for the Thomas the Rhymer website

Griffin attacks Jack

Read the poem Jack wrote about his experiences

Poem About Fairies by Jack Hughes age 11

Catherine did the illustrations & sent it to the school newspaper. It wasn’t published

%d bloggers like this: